Saturday, 6 February 2010

Mandarin’s House opens to the public 澳門歷史城區”之一鄭家大屋對外開放 (澳门历史城区”之一郑家大屋对外开放)

Photobucket

The Mandarin’s House has opened to the public again from 5th Feb after eight years of restoration work. The house is currently hosting an exhibition about the restoration work which was started in July 2001, when the Cultural Affairs Bureau of Macau took over the residence. The residence is located right in the middle of Macau’s historical centre and near one of the most famous squares, Largo do Lilau.

The construction of the residence was built around 1869 and was the ancestral home of Zheng Guanying. The residence was initiated by Zheng Wenrui, the father of Zheng Guanying, and was later expanded by the Zheng brothers. IT was designed in various architectural styles, including the Portuguese and Guangdong traditional features. This residence is a rare example of East-West architectural fusion meant to be found in Macau. The entire complex has more than 60 rooms in total and it is one of the few surviving examples of a traditional residence of the wealthy Chinese in Macau.

During the first phase of expansion, a museum next to the Mandarin’s House will be established. The government is planning to create a museum about Zheng Guanying’s life when he was living in the house. The government will also plans to transform the centre to the house into a memorial of Zheng Guanying. Experts from Shanghai and the Cultural Affairs Bureau of Macau are working together to collect more information about Zheng.

Cheng Kuan Yin - alias Chuang Kai Wa (1812-1893) was a scholar and a very wealthy men, friend of Sun Yat Sen, founder of the Chinese republic who met in this compound to discuss problems and solutions for a modern China.

The Mandarin’s House is located in Travessa de Antonio da Silva, Lilau Square.

The space is open daily from 10 am to 6 pm, and is closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays. Entries are in limited numbers for safety reasons.

More information on
http://www.wh.mo/mandarinhouse


澳門歷史城區”之一鄭家大屋對外開放, 料鄭觀應生平展館、文史資料館等工程於三年內建成。 鄭家大屋透過與旅遊局合作, 屆時把周邊的亞婆井前地、港務局大樓、媽閣廟、主教山及聖老楞佐堂等景點串連起來, 拓展旅遊路線, 發揮環境優勢。

由2月5日下午3時起, 市民及遊客可入內參觀“鄭家大屋修復展示”, 是次“鄭家大屋修復展示”, 巿民及遊客將可重點觀看鄭家大屋歷經八年的修復成果, 公眾可欣賞鄭家大屋的多處空間包括轎道、大花園、文昌廳以及主體建築部分的餘慶堂及積善堂地面層及樓上大廳等。 此外大屋內尚設展覽室, 通過大屋修復前後面貌照片、修復材料、建築模型及建築構件展示等, 有助公眾在新舊對比中, 了解文化遺產修復的艱巨性和複雜性, 從而倍加珍視。 “鄭家大屋修復展示”平日的參觀時間由上午10時至下午6時,逢星期三、四休館。 為保護這一重要的文化遺產, 鄭家大屋將實行人流管制措施: 同一時間全屋最多接待100名公眾; 同一時間,餘慶堂地面層、樓上大廳及積善堂地面層分別最多接待20名公眾。

鄭家大屋是近代著名思想家鄭觀應的故居, 據掛設於屋內餘慶堂大廳的木牌匾楹聯所示, 其建造年份應在1869年之前, 為一院落式大宅。 大屋由鄭觀應之父鄭文瑞始建, 其後鄭觀應及其兄弟陸續修建, 規模不斷擴大, 現佔地4000平方米, 由多座不同風格建築及開放空間組成, 大小房間共有六十多間, 是澳門少見的家族式建築群。 該建築既有鮮明傳統廣東民宅特點, 亦隨處流溢西方建築特色, 充分體現了澳門中西文化交融的特徵。

澳門文化局自2005年起與上海圖書館合作, 共同出版了《鄭觀應文獻選集》系列叢書, 包括《盛世危言》、《鄭觀應檔案名人手札》及《香山鄭慎餘堂待鶴老人囑書》等, 今年將會出版鄭觀應的工作日記《長江日記》。 在音像資料方面2008年與上海音像資料館合作製作了《鄭觀應》文獻紀錄片, 目前則在製作《鄭觀應與洋務運動》文獻紀錄片, 專題介紹鄭觀應在洋務運動中, 對中國航運、電報、紡織、礦冶和鐵路業等所作的貢獻。

為讓公眾更便捷地了解鄭家大屋的資訊,文化局開設了鄭家大屋專題網頁 www.wh.mo/mandarinhouse

鄭家大屋地址:龍頭左巷10號(阿婆井前地對面)
鄭家大屋服務專線: 2896 8820

Thursday, 11 June 2009

Ruins of St. Paul’s among one of “New 7 Wonders of Portuguese Origin” 大三巴牌坊獲選為“葡萄牙人建造的新七大奇觀” (大叁巴牌坊获选为“葡萄牙人建造的新七大奇观”)

Ruins of St. Paul’s is listed as one of the monuments among the “New 7 Wonders of Portuguese Origin”. The winning monuments of the competition were announced on June 10 - the Portugal National Day, in a ceremony held in Portugal.

Macau Government Tourist Office said the listing is honored to us and it certainly will help to promote Macau in Portugal and the Portuguese speaking countries. With the history and architectural elements of the Ruins of St. Paul’s, the structure now becomes one of the most famous landmark in Macau.

Other sites of the “New 7 Wonders of Portuguese Origin” include monuments in India, Morocco, Cape Verde and Brazil. The monuments were selected from a total of 27, located in 16 countries.

澳門大三巴牌坊被列為“葡萄牙人建造的新七大奇觀”其中一座建築物。 獲選名單於葡國日(6月10日)在葡葡牙公佈。 澳門政府旅遊局表示, 很榮幸位於澳門的大三巴牌坊獲選, 這定能有助於葡萄牙及葡語系國家推廣澳門。 事實上大三巴牌坊的歷史及建築元素, 已讓它成為澳門的地標及著名旅遊景點。

其他獲選“葡萄牙人建造的新七大奇觀”的建築分別位於印度、摩洛哥、佛得角及巴西。 7大奇觀從27個位於16個國家的建築物中選出。

Monday, 13 April 2009

2nd World Heritage Travel Expo held in Macau 第二屆世界遺產旅遊博覽會11月澳門舉行 (第二届世界遗产旅遊博览会11月澳门举行)

Organize by Organizing Committee of World Heritage Travel Expo, The 2nd World Heritage Travel Expo will be held at the Venetain Macau Conventional Center from 12nd Nov to 14th Nov. It will showcase cultural and natural heritage from around the world. The event also aims to promote investment and development of tourist attractions. This includes investment in sites protection, maintenance and restoration, as well as tourism development.

Forum and Concurrent Activities:
* World Heritage Tourism Summit Forum provides a chance for attendees to learn about the latest issues.

* Over 300 managers of domestic and overseas branches of China Travel Service are expected to attend Annual Meeting of China Travel Service.

* Best Practice Award of Tourism Management of World Heritage Sites will be awarded.

* Tourism Investment Fair of World Heritage Tourism Destinations will also provide a platform for participating countries to hold the trade talks.



第二屆世界遺產旅遊博覽會將於11月12日至14日在澳門威尼斯人酒店會展中心舉行。 本屆展會展覽面積將擴大至3000平方米, 參展商將增至90家。

今屆世界遺產旅遊博覽會將設「世界遺產展館」和「國際休閒旅遊品展館」兩個主題, 希望能打造成一個更大規模、更加專業、更多活動、更多觀眾及更好服務的展會。 第二屆世界遺產旅遊博覽會將增加非物質文化遺產展區, 將邀請國內100個非物質文化遺產參展。 展品包括傳統手工藝、戲曲、食品、傳統醫藥等, 曲藝、舞蹈類的非物質文化遺產還將在展覽會中進行現場表演。

世界遺產旅遊高峰論壇除保留世界文遺產保護的主題外, 還將增設非物質文化遺產傳承的主題, 集中展示和研討各地專家學者在保護與開發世界文化遺產及非物質文化遺產方面的最新成果。

Friday, 1 August 2008

Macao to Issue New Stamps featuring the World Heritage Site 澳門“世界遺產”新郵品發行 (澳门“世界遗产”新邮品发行)

Macao Post will issue a set of new stamps featuring with the theme of "World Heritage" sites on 31st July, 2008. The selected eight sites are “Mount Fortress”, “Lilau Square”, “Lou Kau Mansion”, “Senado Square”, “Sam Kai Vui Kun”, “The Cathedral”, “Moorish Barracks” and “St. Anthony’s Church”. The design of label stamp is “Section of the Old City Walls”. It will be available for sale at the Macao Post Headquarters

A set of 8 stamps with face value at MOP $1.50, $2.00, $2.50, $3.00, $3.50, $4.00, $4.50 and $5.00 and each value will be issued 250000 pieces. 4 label stamps with face value at MOP $1.50, 2.00, 3.00 and 3.50, a set of 8 postcards with each face value at MOP $2.50, a first-day cover will also be issue at the same time.

郵政局發行本年度的第六套郵品, 一套以澳門“世界遺產”為題材的新郵品(通用郵票及郵資標簽 - 郵政局大約每五年會發行新的通用郵票)。 《世界遺產》郵票一套共8枚分別以“大砲台”、“阿婆井前地”、“盧家大屋”、“議事亭前地”、“三街會館”、“大堂”、“港務局大樓”和“聖安多尼教堂”為背景圖案,郵資標簽圖案為“舊城牆遺址”。 新郵品將在郵政總局,水坑尾、港澳碼頭、澳門國際機場郵政分局及通訊博物館發售。

八枚郵票每枚各發行25萬枚, 面值為MOP$1.5、MOP$2、MOP$2.5、MOP$3、MOP$3.5、MOP$4、MOP$4.5、MOP$5。郵政局還發行4500個每個價值MOP$4.5的首日封、3500張每張價值為5元的資料單張,以及3500套每套8款價值20元明信片。

郵資標簽的面值為MOP$1.5、MOP$2、MOP$3、MOP$3.5。還發行4500個每個價值MOP$4.5的首日封、3500張每張價值MOP$5元的資料單張,及3500張價值MOP$2.5的明信片。郵資標簽可於全澳範圍自動售賣機購買。

整套通用郵票售價為MOP$26,連首日封的售價為MOP$30.5,連資料單張售價MOP$31,連8款極限明信片售價MOP$46。

整套4枚郵資標簽售價MOP$10,連首日封的售價為MOP$14.5,連資料單張售價為MOP$15,連極限明信片售價為MOP$4。

Pic Source : Macao Post

Stamps
Photobucket

Label Stamps
Photobucket

Postcards
Photobucket

First Day Cover
Photobucket

Friday, 28 March 2008

St. Joseph's Seminary and Church - 聖若瑟修院 (圣若瑟修院)

Located on top a hill called Mato Mofino in the southeast section of Macau, the Seminary was founded by the Jesuits in 1728 where they educated many young Macanese and foreigners.

The construction of St. Joseph’s Seminary Church began in 1746 and was completed in 1758. This church was opened in 1758 as part of the Jesuit seminary of St. Joseph. However, the despotic Marquis of Pombal in 1758 had the Jesuits removed. The latin shape church is a fine example of Baroque architecture.

The floor plan of St. Joseph follows the cruciform shape and also has a high domed ceiling which gives this church exceptional acoustics. Sometimes musical concerts such as the International Music Festival can be done here. The architectural design of the Seminary building is simple while the Church is renowned for its elaborate baroque style. The main building of the seminary was restored three times, in 1903, 1953 and 1995.

The seminary building is a simple, neo-classical compound designed with an internal cloister garden. The seminary was constructed primarily of grey brick, the solid walls stand on granite foundations. It originally had only two floors and a third one was added at the end of the 19th century. The seminary’s main entrance is on Seminario Street, access can also be gained via a flight of 54 granite steps, through a wooden door to the right of the church’s forecourt. A door beside the altar leads to an exquisite walled garden, containing an ancient well and plant nursery.



聖若瑟修院於1728年由耶穌會士創辦。 在二百多年的辦學過程中, 聖若瑟修院培養了許多中國和東南亞各地教會的人才, 被老一輩的澳門人稱為澳門天主教的“少林寺"。 與修院毗連的聖若瑟修院聖堂於1746年興建, 1758年落成, 規模僅次於耶穌會士興建的聖保祿教堂(現大三巴牌坊前身), 因此本地人又稱它為“三巴仔"。 聖堂內有奠基石及奠基紀念銅牌記載修建聖堂的日期及人員。 聖堂至1953年再被修葺形成今日規模, 具有巴羅克建筑風格。

聖堂內現存聖方濟各沙勿略(Francisco Xavier)的手肱骨, 供教徒敬禮。 沙勿略是第一位到遠東傳教的耶穌會士, 1552年死於澳門附近的上川島(St. John Island), 后被譽為東方宗徒。 該聖髑被視為東方天主教會的重要文物。 祭壇供奉聖若瑟像, 為巴羅克式設計, 裝飾甚多, 其中兩組四枝腰纏金葉的旋柱最具特色, 柱頭則以斷山花形式收結。 主堂左右分別為供奉耶穌及聖母之祭壇, 而頂部由四個帆拱頂托起的羅馬式穹窿空間, 開有三環各16個窗戶, 其中最高一環祗是象徵式的窗框線, 另兩環才具有透風及採光功能, 穹頂內側為白色, 中間是黃色的耶穌會會徽。

St. Dominic's Church 玫瑰堂

Located right in the middle of Leal Senado plaza of Macau, St. Domingo was built by three Spanish Dominican priests in the mid 16th century. The church has been used to worship the Our Lady of Fatima - the most favorable goddess of the Portuguese. The parade of Our Lady of Fatima was held every year in May 13, began from this sanctuary inside this church.

St. Dominic's Church was originally built in wood, but finally rebuilt in stone in the year 1828. The basic layout of the church is influenced by both Portuguese and Spanish styles. The architecture is Jesuit mannerist. The ceiling of the church is fully decorated with different patterns of paintings, among the most attractive one is the one with big crown in the middle. The interior of the church is mainly consisted of colorful glass patterns, with a variety of shapes and sizes. The main altar is under the pattern of the crown. There is a statue of the sacred Mother with a sacred infant on her hands, and inside the sanctuary is the statue of Our Lady of Fatima on the altar.

The church was renovated in 1997 and opened to the public with a museum on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor. This museum shows paintings, sculptures and liturgical ornaments that illustrate the history of the Roman Catholic church in Asia.

玫瑰堂正名為玫瑰聖母堂及聖多明我教堂, 位於澳門的市中心, 至今已有400多年歷史。 教堂於1587年由西班牙聖多明我會所建, 奉祀玫瑰聖母 (Our Lady of the Rosary), 次年由該會的葡萄牙教士所接管。 由於起初隻由木板搭建, 故被華人稱為「板樟堂」, 直至17世紀方改為磚石的結構。 1874年曾因火災而焚毀, 當年重建后則成現在的規模。 整座教堂建筑富麗堂皇, 其巴羅克建筑風格的祭壇更是典雅精致。 教堂旁的“聖物寶庫"收藏了三百多件澳門天主教珍貴文物。 教堂於每年5月13日舉行的花地瑪聖母聖像巡游, 是澳門天主教重要的節日活動之一, 喻意提示世人勿忘聖母在葡萄牙花地瑪對三位牧童的親授經文來祈求世界和平。

Ruins of St. Paul 大三巴牌坊

Today Macau's most famous tourist site, Ruins of St. Paul refer to the façade of what was originally the Cathedral of St. Paul. The structure stands adjacent to the famous Mount Fortress and Macau Museum.

St Paul College Cathedral was the largest Christian church in Asia at the time built in the 16 century. A violent typhoon hit Macau in 1835 and the church caught fire for the third time in 1835.

The structure has five tiers from the bottom up:
The first tier is comprised of ten Ionic columns with three entrances. The entrance in the middle has 'MATER DEI' carved into it. The two entrances on each side are decorated with bas-reliefs in the pattern of 'HIS'.

The second tier features ten Corinthian columns with three windows. A Catholic saint is enshrined in each of four tabernacles between columns. The two tiers as a whole is said to represent the Society of Jesus and the activities of missionaries.

The remaining three tiers are the most decorated.
The statue of Madonna stands in the middle of the third tier and the statue of Jesus stands on the fourth. The walls are covered with bas-reliefs in various patterns like devils, angels, symbols of crucifixion, a Portuguese sailing ship, etc.

The triangular combination of the upper three tiers reflects the Holy Trinity (the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit) as well as the Blessed Virgin Mary. A cross stands at the coping of the wall.

The Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt was also built and has exhibitions of religions artworks including paintings, sculptures and statues.


澳門的標志性建筑大三巴牌坊 (Ruinas da Antiga Catedral de S. Paulo), 一般稱為大三巴(而聖若瑟修院一區被稱為小三巴), 部份澳門市民直接稱為牌坊。

大三巴牌坊是天主之母教堂(即聖保祿教堂)正面前壁的遺址。 聖保祿教堂於1602年由意大利籍耶穌會會士斯皮諾拉神父設計, 現在牌坊左側還存有當時的奠基石。 整個建筑工程於1637至1640年間才完全竣工。 目前所見的教堂前壁就是最后落成的部分。 1835年的一場大火后, 僅燒剩教堂的正面前壁、大部分地基以及教堂前的石階。 自此之后這裡便成為世界聞名的聖保祿教堂遺址。 本地人因教堂前壁形似中國傳統牌坊, 將之稱為大三巴牌坊。 教堂為矯飾主義風格。 前壁用麻石砌成。 上下5層, 左右共自第3層起可分9格。 前壁右側有一石旗杆夾(左邊與之成對的一副已不存), 下有68層階級, 與教堂位置並不一致。

第一層:最上層為一個三角形山花, 上有銅鴿象徵聖神, 左右有日月星辰。 頂部有一十字架。

第二層:正中為小耶穌, 圍以釘死其之刑具, 往外由4枝混合式壁柱組成, 柱間以天使淺浮雕點綴, 柱兩邊有弧形山牆。

第三層:中央為聖母升天, 天使奏樂歡慶, 周圍飾以牡丹和菊花(象徵來自中國和日本的基督徒技師)。 此一層中央共有6枝混合式壁柱, 兩側以方尖柱代替壁柱。 各柱間均以淺浮雕裝飾, 左邊是智慧之樹及一隻七翼龍, 其上有一聖母, 側有中文「聖母踏龍頭」字樣, 而右邊對稱位置上則是生命之泉及一隻西式帆船, 上有海星聖母。 在柱組外邊是一頂呈弧狀之扶壁, 右邊是一骷髏及中文字「念死者無為罪」, 左邊則是一魔鬼浮雕及中文「鬼是誘人為惡」, 此層最外側兩塊牆身是由兩條帶有圓頂之方尖柱, 左面牆身再現鴿子, 下有一開啟的門, 而右面為被箭所穿之王冠, 下方門閉鎖, 意即信仰而非權勢才是天國之道。 而牆側則設有中國舞獅造型的開大口之獅子作滴水之用。

第四層:由10支科林斯柱式及3個窗口組成, 窗楣上有均有七朵玫瑰花浮雕裝飾, 中間窗口側兩柱間以棕櫚樹裝飾, 側窗洞兩邊柱間對稱設有壁龕, 供奉4位聖人。

第五層:牌坊最下層有3個入口並有10枝愛奧尼柱式支撐及裝飾牆面, 正門兩側各3枝, 而側門一邊各2枝, 正門上寫有意大利文「MATER DEI」(意思是此教堂是供奉天主之母及有通往天國之門的意思)。 側門門楣上有耶穌會的「口號」IHS(意思是人類救主)的浮雕圖案。

Leal Senado Building 民政總署大樓 (民政总署大楼)

located on a square bearing the same name, Leal Senado Square (Largo do Leal Senado), the Leal Senado Building was erected in 1784. The building was the municipal council of the Portuguese government in Macau before the handover. The building now houses the offices of the Institute for Civic and Municipal Affairs of the Macao SAR. The architecture style in the Leal Senado building is neo-classical southern European style.

The building features an underground exhibition hall. The library has a mass valuable literary collection spanning the 17th Century to the 1950s, including the "A Abelha da China" newspaper, which was established in 1822 as the first Macau paper and the first foreign language paper to appear in China. The great hall on the ground floor feature antique designs and luxurious decorations, with a neat and beauty little garden inside. The garden has an elegant and simple design with decorative objects such as a bronze bust of the poet Luis de Camoes.

民政總署大樓的位置, 歷史上原為一座中式亭樓建筑的議事亭, 為明朝政府宣讀政府命令和作為中葡官員會面的場所。 1784年(清干隆四十九年)葡萄牙人購買了該地皮, 並興建具葡萄牙風格的議事公局大樓。 大樓成為葡萄牙人在澳門的地方政治心臟, 一切市政事宜以至葡萄牙的集會和慶典都會在此舉行。 議事公局大樓后曾多次重修, 目前規模是1874年重修時形成的, 具明顯的南歐建筑藝術特色。

澳門市政廳大樓曾附設過多個機構, 包括賈梅士博物院、書信館、法院和監獄,后均遷出。 2002年1月1日澳門民政總署成立, 取代澳門的市政機構, 大樓名稱也改為「民政總署大樓」。 大樓地下右側是展覽廳, 定期舉辦各項藝術展覽。 大樓二樓設有一所公共圖書館, 於1929年啟用。 圖書館以葡國瑪弗拉修道院的圖書館(Biblioteca do Convento de Mafra)為設計藍本, 裝潢和家具陳設具有厚厚的古典氣息。 現在專門收藏17世紀至20世紀50年代的外文古籍, 特別是葡萄牙在非洲及遠東的歷史文獻, 其中不乏珍品。 另外大樓的后方有一個葡式花園, 有一個渾天儀形狀的花圃以及葡萄牙詩人賈梅士的半身像。

Lou Kau Mansion 盧家大屋 (卢家大屋)

Lou Kau Mansion is located at Travessa da Se No.7, one of the alleys close to Largo do Senado. The Mansion was built in around 1889 and its one of the residences of the wealthy Lou Lim Iok family.

The mansion was constructed in grey brick, the house was divided into a main hall with side wings with a very nice ornamental windows, stain doors and complicated decorated walls. The architectural characteristics of the mansion is a typical of Xiguan Chinese residential house.

A screen was placed to prevent bad luck at the main entrance, according to the requirements of geomancy. The ornamental window design reflects the influence of Western architecture. This includes the neo-classical balustrades and perforated wooden ceilings.

The Two courtyards at Lou Kau Mansion are separates the three main halls and all are arranged within an axis. The three halls are the Entrance Hall, Tea Hall and Senior Hall, as this demonstrates the hierarchical structure of Chinese families.


盧家大屋(Casa de Lou Kau)又稱金玉堂, 位於大堂巷七號, 據屋內左次間天井檐口的題詩年份顯示該大屋約於清光緒十五年(1889 年)落成, 是澳門二十世紀初商人盧華紹(盧九)住宅。 大屋高兩層, 以青磚建造, 布局彷廣州西關大屋, 但從中能找到一些歐洲特色的裝飾品或加建之部分。 1992年被澳門政府評為「具建筑藝術價值之建筑物」成為受保護建筑。


之後盧氏家族沒落, 業權輾轉到外人手上。 大屋被分租出去, 曾有大批難民涌入進住, 最高峰時期曾有二十多戶住客, 且在八十年代前缺乏維修, 亦因此大屋很多部份被拆掉改建。 及后澳門文化局於2002年7月為此進行復修並列入澳門歷史城區的一部份。

Our Lady of Carmel Church 嘉模聖母堂 (嘉模圣母堂)

Situated at the Carmel Square in Taipa, The Church of Our Lady of Carmel was built in 1885 and was rebuilt in 1985. It stands on a hill overlooking the sea in Taipa village. It was built to serve the Catholics in Taipa. It is the only Catholic church in Taipa today and was built in the neoclassical style. The hall inside the church can accommodate over two hundred worshippers at one time, making it a popular venue for weddings. The statue of Virgin Mary stands on an altar flanked by statuettes of angels, added to commemorate the centenary of the church.

位於氹仔嘉模前地的嘉模聖母堂是1885年為方便氹仔教徒的宗教活動而建, 同時象徵當年葡萄牙人來到氹仔。 該堂曾於1985年重修, 是氹仔唯一的天主教堂。 教堂佔地二千余平方尺, 頂部為鐘樓。 禮堂高大寬敞, 可容二百多教友同時參加儀式。 聖壇上置聖母像, 據說是從歐洲運來, 其兩側有數尺高的天使像, 造型栩栩如生, 是為紀念建堂百周年而置。 教堂位於龍環葡韻上面, 是澳門居民舉行婚禮和郊游觀光的好去處。

Macau Moorish Barracks 港務局大樓 (港务局大楼)

Located close to the Inner Harbour, the Macau Moorish Barracks became offices for Marine and Customs Police and now houses the Macao Maritime Administration. The building was built with brick and stone neo-classical structure with some Moorish influences. The rest of the building has only one floor, except to the rear the construction has two floors. The building was painted light yellow, with most of the details picked out in white.

An Indian regiment was brought to Macao from Goa in order to reinforce the local police force in a move to keep peace and order. An Italian architect named Cassuto designed this Moorish-style building to accommodate the Indian policemen. Construction was completed in August 1874. There were two hundred Indian soldiers stationed in the Macau Moorish Barracks according to historical records.

港務局大樓原稱摩爾兵營(Quartel dos Mouros)俗稱水師廠。 由一位意大利人卡蘇杜(Cassuto)設計, 1874年建成。 摩爾兵營是當時由印度來澳的警察的營地, 兵營可駐二百多名官兵。 1905年大樓改為港務局和水警稽查隊的辦公地點, 故被俗稱為水師廠。 由於港務局大樓位處於媽閣內港入口附近的山坡地, 其樓頂設置的台風信號站讓漁民、船隻與居民得知風球信號。

Sir Robert Ho Tung Library 何東圖書館大樓 (何东图书馆大楼)

Located at St Augustine's Square and right beside the entrance to the St Joseph Seminary, Sir Robert Ho Tung Library is currently the biggest library in Macau. The building which houses Sir Robert Ho Tung Library was constructed in 1894. It was originally owned by one Dona Carolina Cunha and bought over by Hong Kong businessman Sir Robert Ho Tung in 1918. The house was used as his private residence between 1941 to 1945 when Hong Kong fell into the hands of the Japanese, Sir Robert moved to Macao and stayed here until the war ended. When Sir Robert passed away in 1955, the building was willed to the government to be converted into a public library. The Sir Robert Ho Tung Library was officially opened in 1958.

The original structure is inscribed by Unesco as a World Heritage Site for its historical, cultural and architectural values.


何東圖書館大樓建於1894年(清光緒二十年)以前, 原主人為官也夫人(D. Carolina Cunha)。 香港富商何東爵士於1918年購入該大樓作為夏天來澳門消暑的別墅。 二次大戰日軍佔據香港期間(1941-1945)何東爵士曾在此定居。 1955年何東爵士逝世, 其后人根據生前遺囑意願將故居贈予政府作為公共圖書館用途。 至1958 年圖書館正式對外開放。

何東圖書館為集歷史、文化和建筑藝術於一體的園林式圖書館。 歐陸風韻的建筑樓高三層, 前部有拱廊, 是典型的花園式豪華住宅。 圖書館於1958年正式對外開放初時隻開放一樓藏書樓部分。 到1989年何東圖書館重修后, 地下為中文書庫和報刊室, 二樓為古籍藏書樓、澳門資料室及辦公室, 三樓為展覽廳和視聽室。 2005年何東圖書館主樓后花園側建了一座新大樓, 成為全澳門最大的公共圖書館。

Casa Garden - Former East India Company Headquarter 賈梅士博物院 - 東方基金會會址 (贾梅士博物院 - 东方基金会会址)

Built in 1770, the Casa Garden was originally the luxurious villa of a royal aristocrat from Portugal - Manuel Pereira. The garden occupies a very extensive area and featuring the English architectural style. The site was the seat for a museum in the 20th century and currently is one of the largest and most secluded parks in Macau.

The mansion has arched windows and shutters, with the exterior walls of the Casa Garden hosue are painted white. There is a marble balcony and stone steps and the main hall is splendidly decorated with a southern European style. A small bronze statute of Camões can be found in the park grotto, and at the far end of the garden.

At a later period the Casa Garden was rented out to the Macao Branch of the English East India Company as a residence for commercial directors, taipans and high-ranking British officers stationed in China.

The Casa Garden is now the head office of the Orient Foundation - a Macau cultural foundation.

東方基金會會址建於1770年代, 原址是澳門富商俾利喇(Manuel Pereira)的別墅。 后來租給英國東印度公司作為該公司駐華商務監督, 大班及英國駐中國高級官員的住所。 1885年該房屋成為澳葡政府的財產。 二十世紀60年代后曾改作賈梅士博物院, 現為東方基金會會址。 東方基金會會址建筑是澳門首幢別墅式花園的豪華住宅, 因此整個格調極具氣派。

The Old Macau Protestant Cemetery 舊基督教墳場 (旧基督教坟场)

The Old Protestant Cemetery was established by the British East India Company in 1821. The Cemetery was built in response of the need for a burial place for the non-Catholic community of Macau.

During that time, the Portuguese considered Macau sacred Roman Catholic ground, and barred non Catholics from being buried within its city walls. On the other side of the barrier gate, ecclesiastical law forbade the burial of Protestants on Catholic soil and the Chinese were also intolerant of foreigners being buried on their soil. The Protestant traders had to bury their dead in the area just outside the city walls. But the Chinese were not impressed considering the practice a desecration of their land, so this had to be done in secrecy, under the cover of night. Until 1814 that land was sold to the British East Indian Company who opened the cemetery in 1821 to finally resolved this fraught situation. Inmates include many naval officers along with Robert Morrison, first Protestant missionary to China, and Lord John Spencer Churchill, ancestor of Sir Winston. Artist George Chinnery, renowned for his pictures of Macau holds pride of place.

The Old Protestant Cemetery is one of the sites within the Historic Centre of Macau, and is inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

舊基督教墳場是由英國東印度公司於1821年建立, 以解決當時新教徒缺乏長眠之所的問題。 天主教會固不願見異教徒葬於城牆之內, 中國人亦不容許外國人埋於關閘以北的地方。 來自英國、美國及北歐國家的商人唯有秘密地把先人葬於城牆與關閘之間, 恐防被中國人發現會發生沖突, 甚至在離開之后毀墳滅尸。 事情最終在馬禮遜的夫人瑪麗在1821年去世以后解決。 馬禮遜其時為東印度公司職員, 便請東印度公司出面, 向澳葡當局申請將現址辟為墳場。 后來所有外國人都可以在此安息, 而原先葬於其他地方的遺體亦遷葬於此, 所以有些墓碑的年代早於墳場始建的年份。 1857年市政廳禁止市區內埋入任何死者, 墳場因此關閉並完整地保存至今。

墳場分兩部分, 前為與墳場同時興建的馬禮遜小教堂, 是澳門第一座基督教傳道所。 后為墓園, 墓塚數十座, 埋葬的多是來華的英國商人, 東來拓殖的殖民主義者, 鴉片戰爭中在華身亡的英國將領及基督教傳教士。 其中最著名的有居澳20余載的英國畫家喬治錢納利 (George Chinnery)(1774-1852), 基督教傳教士馬禮遜(Robert Morrison)(1782-1834)。 馬禮遜是第一位來華的新教傳教士, 曾長期在澳門工作, 死后葬於教堂旁邊的墓地, 此教堂也以其命名。 墳場葬了來自英國、美國、荷蘭、丹麥、瑞典和德國的國民。 除了上述的名人外, 尚有戴雅牧師 (Rev. Samuel Dyer), 英國皇家海軍艦長亨利 約翰・史賓塞邱吉爾 (即喬治史賓塞—邱吉爾之子,溫斯頓・邱吉爾之曾曾曾叔)和美國海軍上尉約瑟哈羅德・亞當斯 (美國第二任總統約翰亞當斯之孫、第六任總統約翰・昆西亞當斯之侄)。

St Augustine's Church 聖奧斯定教堂 (圣奥斯定教堂)

The St Augustine's Church at Santo Agostinho Square, was established by Spanish Augustinians in 1586. The facade was originally of Baroque style. It taken over by the Portuguese in 1591. The present building was dates back to 1814. It has a high altar with the statue of Christ carrying the cross.

The procession of Our Lord of the Passion is head every year on the first Sunday of Lent, the statue is brought to the Cathedral at night. The next day it is paraded through the streets where the Stations of the Cross are set up along the route. The event was attended by the clergy and laymen, it is then restored to the St Augustine's Church.

The St Augustine's Church today draws a strong participation from the Filipino community in Macau.


聖奧斯定教堂(俗稱龍嵩廟、龍鬚廟、崗頂聖堂), 由西班牙奧斯定會修士於1591年創建。 教堂最初的建筑非常簡陋, 教士們便用蒲葵葉覆蓋屋頂來遮擋風雨, 每當大風吹來蒲葵葉便隨風飛揚, 華人遠遠望去, 覺得這情景像龍須豎起, 就稱教堂作“龍須廟", 后又以粵音轉稱“龍嵩廟"。 教堂於1874年重修后形成今天的規模。 該教堂每年為期兩天的苦難耶穌像巡游, 有悠久的歷史, 是澳門天主教會重要的節日活動之一。

教堂於1825年重修, 外形庄嚴雄偉, 內部裝潢寬敞闊大, 有三條石柱相間的側廊。 以大理石建成的祭壇上有一座耶穌背十字架的雕像。 相傳此雕像被送至大堂安放, 但卻神奇地回到聖奧斯定堂的祭壇上。 在每年四旬期游行的前一晚, 這個雕像會先送到大堂, 隔天再從大堂出發參與游行。 祭壇採用鋼筋混凝土結構, 裝飾為巴羅克風格, 表面飾水磨石, 地板鋪設馬賽克, 而中廳內部還有小祭壇。

St. Anthony's Church 聖安多尼教堂 (圣安多尼教堂)

Saint Anthony Church is one of the oldest churches in Macau. The church was named after St Anthony of Padua, near Venice in Italy. St. Anthony is the patron saint of seafarers in Macau. His statue would be carried by a regiment of soldiers on his feast days.

The church stands on the site of a chapel that was built in 1558. It was then rebuilt in stone 1638, but burnt down in 1809. The church was then rebuilt the next year in 1810 and once again in 1875. The present St Anthony's Church was built at 1930 with Neoclassical style. Another fire necessitated restoration to be carried out again in 1930 and further work was done on the facade and tower in 1940.

The Portuguese liked to hold weddings here in the past, hence the name of "Church of Flowers".

聖安多尼教堂位於白鴿巢前地南面, 是澳門三大古老教堂之一。 教堂創建於1558至1560年間, 初為茅草覆蓋的簡陋小教堂, 直至1638年方改以石頭重新興建, 其后在1810年和1874年進行過兩次重修, 1930年才形成今日的外觀和規模。 教堂內供奉的是聖安多尼(St Anthony of Padua) - 葡萄牙人熟識的聖徒, 他被視為掌管人間的婚姻, 故很多居澳葡人也選擇在此舉行婚禮。 因此,華人稱之為「花王堂」。 教堂室內採用磚木結構, 橢圓形木構拱頂, 長方形中廳無柱廊阻隔, 木拱頂, 從天花之上垂下華麗的枝型大吊燈。 堂內祭壇為建於1875年的巴羅克式聖壇, 採用斷山花和雙柱的形式, 中間有耶穌釘在十字架上的塑像, 上面有耶穌會標志 HIS。 教堂的中廳內部還有小祭壇以及其它小祈禱室。

澳門早期的教堂大多經歷烈火洗禮, 聖安多尼教堂也不例外。 有關這座教堂的近代歷史, 特別是1874年9月22日的大火令人難以忘懷, 以后每年的9月22日這一天被澳門人稱作“天災節", 市民扛著聖安多尼像上街游行以示紀念。

Holy House of Mercy in Macau 仁慈堂大樓 (仁慈堂大楼)

Located in a quiet lane just off Senado Square, the first Bishop of Macau Dom Belchior Carneiro, founded the Holy House of Mercy in 1569. The Holy House of Mercy in Macau has devoted its work to the local community, providing charitable assistance in the spirit of Christian fraternity. The Holy House of Mercy was the first charity association to be established in Macau. The building has a neo-classical style which has a refined noble appearance. Nowadays, the Holy House of Mercy exhibits historical pieces and objects of religious art that pinpoint the meeting of different cultures.

With a brick and granite structure has a refined noble appearance, the Holy House of Mercy used to have a lepers’ hospital in St. Lazarus District which is said to have been the first Western-model hospital in Asia. It used to have a chapel with a bell tower standing close by according to documents in historical archives and old drawings. The front of the building is divided into three vertical sections and the façade’s horizontal extension is balanced by ten sets of pilasters.

There is a 2 metrewide balcony on the first floor above the public passage. You can also find the skull, cross and full-length oil painting of Dorn Belchior Carneiro, the founder of the institution plus a bronze bell from the old St. Raphael Hospital, which was founded by Carneiro in the 16th Century on the 2nd floor.

仁慈堂於1569年由天主教澳門教區的首任主教賈耐勞(D.Belchior Carneiro)創立, 仁慈堂負責慈善救濟的工作。 成立之后仁慈堂開辦了中國第一間西式醫院白馬行醫院, 並設育嬰堂、麻瘋院、老人院、孤兒院等機構。

仁慈堂大樓建於18世紀中葉, 為一兩層高的歐陸式的傳統建筑物。 上有三角楣,整體白色設計,外表亮麗。 地面層建有拱廊, 上層走廊外建拱窗, 有窗台狀的鏤石欄杆, 其后於1905年以新古典主義的表現方式加建拱廊部分, 修成甚具古典文化特色的建筑模樣。

仁慈堂的二樓為博物館, 收藏了很多許多由私人捐出的宗教祭品。 其中有些是早期天主教傳入中國時由中國人制造的祭品。 反映出天主教早期來到亞洲而衍生出的文化特色。 其中館內最珍貴的為1662年「澳門仁慈堂章程」的手抄本, 是該堂最早及保存最久的歷史文獻, 甚是歷史價值。 在博物館內還能看見創始人賈尼路主教的頭顱遺骨以及當年陪葬的十字架、賈尼路全身畫像和前白馬行醫院的銅鐘等。

在「仁慈堂大樓」旁邊的一條橫巷內的盡頭亦豎立著一座賈尼路主教的半身銅像, 以紀念他一生對澳門及教會的貢獻。

Lilau Square 亞婆井前地 (亚婆井前地)

situated in the old “Christian quarter” where the Portuguese first settled in Macau, Largo do Lilau is surrounded by Portuguese style buildings and is therefore an area representing Macau’s unique urban style and features. The Square was one of the first settlements for the Portuguese.

"Lilau" means "mountain spring", the buildings in this area are built in the Chinese-Portuguese style, with some typical Mediterranean influence and some Art Deco influences. A fountain was added in the renovation in 1994, to symbolise an unfailing supply of spring water that nurtured the people there.

The Portuguese popular phrase: “One who drinks from Lilau never forgets Macau”, expresses the locals’ nostalgic attachment to Lilau Square.

亞婆井前地是位於澳門西望洋山北面的一個廣場。 傳說明朝一位婆婆在此地筑水池貯山泉方便居民汲取飲用, 故人稱呼水池為「亞婆井」。亞婆井的葡文意思是山泉, 由此可知, 此地昔日為澳門水池之一。

澳門昔日的葡萄牙人有民謠說:「渴過亞婆井水,忘不掉澳門;要麼在澳門成家,要麼遠別重來。」 可見亞婆井對本地葡人具有重要的意義。 為保存此區的文化特色, 澳葡政府亦進行了一系列重修工程使得各建筑物與景觀得以保存下來。

由於亞婆井前地及周圍古舊建筑, 故2005年開始便隨澳門歷史城區之一部份而被列入世界文化遺產名錄內。

Saturday, 3 November 2007

Macau Historical Centre World Heritage 澳門歷史城區世界遺產

建築物

* 媽閣廟
Photobucket

* 港務局大樓(舊稱「嚤囉兵營」,又稱「水師廠」)
* 鄭家大屋(鄭觀應的故居)
* 聖老楞佐教堂
Photobucket

* 聖若瑟修院大樓及聖堂
Photobucket

* 崗頂劇院(伯多祿五世劇院)
* 何東圖書館
* 聖奧斯定教堂
Photobucket

* 民政總署大樓(原澳門市政廳)
* 三街會館(關帝廟)
* 仁慈堂大樓
* 大堂(主教座堂)
Photobucket

* 盧家大屋(金玉堂)
* 玫瑰堂(板樟堂)
* 大三巴牌坊(聖保祿教堂遺址,有東方梵蒂岡之稱)
* 哪吒廟(位於大三巴牌坊側)
* 舊城牆遺址
* 大炮台
* 聖安多尼教堂(花王堂)
Photobucket

* 東方基金會會址
* 基督教墳場
* 東望洋炮台(包括聖母雪地殿教堂及燈塔)

前地

* 媽閣廟前地
* 阿婆井前地
Photobucket

* 崗頂前地
* 議事亭前地(澳門的商業中心區,俗稱「噴水池」)
Photobucket

* 板樟堂前地
* 大堂前地
* 耶穌會紀念廣場
* 白鴿巢前地(亦稱花王堂前地、賈梅士公園前地)

List of sites

* A-Ma Temple
* Casa Garden
* Cathedral of the Nativity of Our Lady
* Dom Pedro V Theatre
* Guia Fortress
* Holy House of Mercy
* Leal Senado
* Lilau Square
* Lou Kau Mansion
* Mandarin's House
* Moorish Barracks
* Mount Fortress
* Na Tcha Temple
* Old Protestant Cemetery
* Ruins of St. Paul’s
* Sam Kai Vui Kun (Kuan Tai Temple)
* Section of the Old City Walls
* Senado Square
* Sir Robert Ho Tung Library
* St. Anthony’s Church
* St. Augustine’s Church
* St. Augustine’s Square
* St. Dominic’s Church
* St. Joseph’s Seminary and Church
* St. Lawrence’s Church

Source : AomenTV
Guia Fortress & Lighthouse


A Ma Temple


Macau: Walks Through Time (Pt.1)